The last day of internship

I felt extremely sad when I cleared up my table, deleted all the files in my computer, all my emails, emptied the trash and shredded all my documents. It was a physical erasure of all that I had done in the past 9 weeks and I felt that 9 weeks was too short a time to be leaving already.

I would have to let go of all these people whom I have been close to, who I have been seeing  for 8.5 hours every single day. I thought of all my old friends who have left me and who I have left, those people I shared fond memories with, those people that I was once close to, but because of circumstance, and the many years that pass, when if we were to ever meet again, would be just a stranger. Do they not remember what they once shared with you?

It is an incredibly sad feeling.

They gave us gifts and stood up, waving, watching us leave. And my heart broke.

Leave a Reply

