First day, first mistake

Today I had my first lecture of my last semester in university . There was an exchange student sitting alone by himself near the front of the class . When class ended he didn’t go off straight away but lingered around for a bit. I could sense it. I could sense he wanted friends.

My friend and I went out of the lecture theatre to head towards the canteen. He walked straight towards me but I kept looking ahead. My ego was too blown up. I didn’t look at him because I wanted him to take the first step. I didn’t look at him because I was afraid my friend would judge me, even though I was with only one friend and the opportunity was perfect.

If I was in his shoes, I would be scared. First day of class and he had no one . Plus I was in the international student committee, why did I end up ignoring him? So stupid.

Leave a Reply

