What interests me?

Talking to my friends today made me reflect a little about what my interests are.

I sort of know my plan of action after I graduate. First, I shall apply for a job in the place where I interned at. This place has a rigid lifestyle of working 8am to 6pm everyday for five days. I will have colleagues who speak mainly mandarin. I will be in a company that has a nice work culture, with an emphasis on extra curriculars. Life is rigid, and might be stressful at times, but the people I will be working with in the office will be nice and friendly. There isn’t much competition between working colleagues because we all have to work together to handle projects. I will test the waters for two years to see if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. 

I do realise I have interest in international relations, international culture and writing. I admit, these are nothing more than interests. It seems ‘fun’ to do, but will it be lucrative? I do not know yet. I know I like to write, but how far will this interest bring me? Up to a point, I will become saturated.

Another thing I have been thinking about is how fun would it be to be able to create something specifically for youths, as I am still a youth myself. Many places in Singapore are designed by businessmen and architects who are well into their middle age. With regards to creating a space for youths, how much do they exactly know? Wouldn’t it be cool to be a youth advising a panel of older people into designing a space that is for my generation? That would be fun. 

Leave a Reply

